Of sorrow

Your birthday nears
And the sadness is overwhelming
All our should and could have beens
Hanging in the air
The winter cold, a contant reminder,
Of what was, what is, what can never be,
I am broken in so many places within
Nothing can ever put me back together
The cold is unbearable,
I feel it most within
I cry out but no-one hears me
I wake in the dark of night
I fear I have lost you
And then I remember
You’re gone
The tears flow then
Slowly, silently they fall
As the day looms closer
I consider it all, your birth, death, all in one
There may be nothing to celebrate
But there is much to cherish
And I do,
Everyday I do

Leave a Reply

