Days of July

The days of July come to an end
but the sadness it brought me still remains
The sadness and heartache are still very real
but there are days of happiness too,
laughter and feelings of normalcy return,
though few and far between,
they are there in the shadows,
creeping up because I need them,
because there is death and there is life too,
it just doesn’t have you in it,
for this reason,
I feel the joy less often that I used to before,
I must mother on my child
for your brother here, for you there,
I must not give up,
I must not give in,
who will play referee between your dad and sibling,
who will protect your memory and hold it dear,
these days of July may be coming to an end,
but my love for you grows stronger everyday.

Leave a Reply

