She lived

My daughter died
One cold day in winter,
She drifted off into an unending sleep
She struggled for a day, maybe two,
Trying to unwind herself from the cord tightening around her,
I never knew she was in trouble
But I know she tried to get free
she couldnt 
She was a baby
So listening to my heartbeat,
She died
In the place she knew as home
In her safe place she fell asleep forever
I met her sleeping
I never heard her cry
I never felt her fingers wrap around mine
Now I search for her in the stars above me
I call out to her in my dreams
I stare at the sunset and imagine her staring back at me
My daughter died world
And she took a part of me with her
A part that was always hers
She died, yes,
But more importantly she lived

One thought on “She lived

Leave a Reply

