It still hurts

It still hurts but I can breathe
I can savour the sweetness of the smell of my son’s hair and skin
It still hurts but I can smile
I can sit outside and soak up the sunshine like I used to
It still hurts but I can walk
I can hold out my hand and caress the petals of the roses blooming in my front garden
It still hurts but I can sing
I can listen intently to the chirping of the birds in the trees
It still hurts but I can dream
I can lift my eyes to sky and see the blue again
It still hurts but I can hope
I can look to the sunset in the evenings and whisper I love you to the wind
It still hurts but I can live
I can open my heart and let grace in
It still hurts but I can share
I can hold hands with another and let love in

Leave a Reply

