I’ll drink to that

In bold letters, the words on the vodka and lemon cider bottle stare at me, those BOLD words, black against white read:

"DRINKING DURING PREGNANCY CAN BE HARMFUL TO YOUR UNBORN BABY"

I laugh and take the first sip. I read it again..

"DRINKING DURING PREGNANCY CAN BE HARMFUL TO YOUR UNBORN BABY"

I take another sip and another and the words seem a bit blurry, must be the tears of anguish at the absurdity of it all

"DRINKING DURING PREGNANCY CAN BE HARMFUL TO YOUR UNBORN BABY"

I take yet another sip… NO GULP…all the while screaming in my head SO DO A LOT OF OTHER THINGS!

"DRINKING DURING PREGNANCY CAN BE HARMFUL TO YOUR UNBORN BABY"

YES IT CAN…BUT SO CAN…

– Not drinking a sip of alcohol during pregnancy
– Taking all of your pregnancy vitamins on time
– Going to all your Doctor’s visits
– Resting
– Relaxing
– Eating fruits and vegetables
– Taking walks and remaining active
– Attending all your scans
– Monitoring movements and going in to see a Doctor when in doubt
– Hiring a nanny
– Bonding with your baby by singing and talking to her

OH YES "DRINKING DURING PREGNANCY CAN BE HARMFUL TO YOUR UNBORN BABY"

So can everything else.

I would have never dreamt of doing that, not then, not now, not ever…

But she’s still gone isn’t she?

2 thoughts on “I’ll drink to that

  1. Hi, I am so sorry to read about Zia. This post really resonated with me. I tried SO, SO hard when I was pregnant with my daughter N (who was stillborn at 33 weeks in 2014, but I am new to blogging) to do everything right. I was paranoid about staying active and eating all the right stuff, and not stressing too much and having both a midwife and an OB (am in the UK, where we usually just see a midwife). This was partly because my first daughter had a complicated delivery and a tricky first few weeks and I wanted to do everything in my power to ensure that didn’t happen again. I did everything I thought I should be doing. I was so healthy. And still I lost N. Makes me feel like nothing makes sense. Thinking of you and your precious girl, Cx

Leave a Reply

