Sometimes

Sometimes it’s the simplest of things

The way the wind feels against my skin

The way the cold seeps into my bones

Sometimes it’s the absence of the warmth

The sound of my boot soles on the floor as I walk

Sometimes it’s a sound,

The rustle of dry leaves on the ground or a song

A sad song…lyrics unimportant

Just the melody

Sometimes it’s the weight of the melancholy I carry with me

Sometimes just those simple things remind me

Reminds me of time lost

Of a life that ceased,

Of you.

Leave a Reply

